Exercise: High Intensity Interval Training (HIIT)

The past few days I have been reading and hearing about High Intensity Interval Training. Basically you were working out less time, but with micro-bursts of high intensity during your workout.

So, I started today and let me just say this is NOT for the faint of heart. Though I only spent 20 mins compared to my 30-45 mins of cardio I normally would I am still feeling it (and it’s been 30 mins sinced I cooled down).

I started on the Elliptical, I warmed up at a good pace around 4.0 mph, for 5 mins. Once the 5 mins hit, I then increased the speed to around 11.1 mph for 20 seconds (whoo!). After 20 seconds I took it back down to 4.2-4.5 mph for 3.5 mins (recovery). Then pushed it back up to around 11 mph for another 20 seconds, and back into recovery for 3.5 mins. I did just three reps, and then did a cool down for the 7 or 8 mins.  For a total of 20 mins.

My heart rate was over 170 during the micro-bursts.

According to the articles I have read on line – this type of exercise is suppose to increase fat burning, not only during the exercise but for some time after, as it takes a bit longer to recover.

I am giving this a try and we shall see what happens.

Leave a Reply

